East Midlands MPs labelled as Brexit ‘mutineers’

Anna Soubry MP

Three prominent East Midlands MPs have been labelled “mutineers” by a daily newspaper for opposing the government’s bid to enshrine the time and date of Britain’s departure from the EU.

This morning (15 November), The Daily Telegraph’s front page shows a number of Tory rebels who are against their party’s move – including former Chancellor Ken Clarke, Broxtowe MP Anna Soubry and Nicky Morgan, the Loughborough MP and former education secretary who now chairs the Treasury Select Committee and earlier this year sat on a TheBusinessDesk.com round table.

Last night in the House of Commons, Soubry said being called a “mutineer” by the Telegraph is “a badge of honour”.

Soubry, who has been an outspoken critic of hard Brexit since the government’s discussions with EU representatives began, tweeted last night

Clarke, MP for Rushcliffe in Nottinghamshire, has called the proposal to include an exit time and date in the EU withdrawal bill “ridiculous and unnecessary”, saying: “It could be harmful to the national interest.”