IoD reveals Director of Year nominees

THE Institute of Directors has revealed the shortlist for its annual regional Director of the Year awards.

In the prestigious large company category, Richard Law,  chief executive of high-growth Chester-based IT security business GB Group will compete with David Newman, who runs specialist insurer Carole Nash, and Wirral-based Asif Hamid, founder of the Contact Company.

Multiple nominees include: Richard Anderson of Knutsford pharmaceutical firm Crawford healthcare, Mottie Kessler, from Runcorn-based chemicals company 2M Holdings; Sandy Lindsay, founder of Manchester-based Tangerine PR and Claire Sofield from Four Recruitment.

The shortlisted individuals run businesses in a wide range of sectors spread across the region including Cheshire, Manchester, Cumbria, Merseyside and Lancashire.

Rachel Smith, regional director at the Institute of Directors said: “Our shortlist represents some of the most innovative and inspiring leaders the region has to offer. I’m always interested to see what the finalists are doing differently to stand out in their fields, and this year we have some fantastic examples of success.”

Winners will be announced on February 25.

The full shortlist and categories::

Director of the Year (Large Company)
Asif Hamid – The Contact Company
Richard Law – GB Group
David Newman – Carole Nash Insurance Consultants
Director of the Year Award (Small & Medium Company)
Sandy Lindsay – Tangerine PR & The Juice Academy
Richard Freye – Service Care Solutions
Adrian Rawlinson – Marl International

Young Director of the Year
Richard Freye – Service Care Solutions
Claire Sofield – Four Recruitment
Daniel Halenko – Bellit Group T/A Blackburn Alarms

Global Director of the Year
Mottie Kessler – 2M Holdings
Richard Anderson – Crawford Healthcare

Public Sector / Third Sector Director of the Year

Rob Johnston – Cumbria Chamber of Commerce
Yvonne Harrison – Greatersport
Mike Hamilton – Commando Joe’s

Family Business Director of the Year

James Nicholson – Pochin
Claire Sofield – Four Recruitment
Daniel Halenko – Bellit Group T/A Blackburn Alarms

Non-Executive Director of the Year

Arthur Roberts – Community Foundation for Lancashire & Merseyside
Vanda Murray – Manchester Airports Group (MAG)

Start Up Director of the Year
Jasen Jackiw – PRYMO Surface Solutions Limited
Hannah Warren – Oxygen Executive Management Ltd / Oxygen Personnel
George Thompson – Mammoth Events
Tom New – Formisimo

Leadership in Corporate Responsibility

Lee Petts – Remsol
Sandy Lindsay – Tangerine PR & The Juice Academy

Science & Innovation
Mottie Kessler – 2M Holdings
Neil Murray – RedX Pharma
Richard Anderson – Crawford Healthcare
Ned Wakeman – Biohub