New Lace Market venue set to be first to open in city post-lockdown

The Blind Rabbit will occupy the former W Cotton offices designed in 1875
X The Business Desk

Register for free to receive latest news stories direct to your inbox

Register

A New York-inspired bar, grill and live entertainment venue is set to open in Nottingham city centre this summer.

As we reported earlier this year, the Blind Rabbit is laying a claim to become the first major venue to open post lockdown in the city centre.

The team behind three of the city’s most popular bars, The Magic Garden, Das Kino and Penny Lane are also responsible for The Blind Rabbit which is in Weekday Cross. The building has been empty since the closure of Belgian restaurant Belgo in June 2019, with The Blind Rabbit sent to open in the space in august.

Michael Johnson, operations director at The Blind Rabbit, said: “We are thrilled to be opening our newest venture in Nottingham’s Lace Market – it is an absolutely beautiful building over three floors and it has a fantastic space outside for people to enjoy the summer weather.

“The Blind Rabbit will be a place for everyone and will feature something new in a city that already offers so much. Outstanding food, drinks and service within the most causal of surroundings is what we aim to deliver with unique cocktails alongside what we boldly believe will be Nottingham’s best burgers.”

Speciality cocktails will be central to The Blind Rabbit offering – alongside old school American bar games an live entertainment.

Johnson added: “We’re constantly striving to improve everything we do, whether it be bringing bold new design to the city or challenging ourselves with exciting new food and drink offerings. We want our venues to be an experience for everyone who walks through the door. The Blind Rabbit promises something entirely new for Nottingham – with its bold street art and graffiti walls to deliver an iconic venue that the city can be proud of.”

The building was designed by eminent Nottingham architect William Arthur Heazell in 1875 for W Cotton as offices and warehouse.

Close