29 September 2021

  6.30pm -12am, The Midland Hotel, Manchester

£110 +VAT per place | Table of 10: £1,000

Headline sponsor




please email events@thebusinessdesk.com to enquire about tickets



There are a number of high profile opportunities available. To discuss these please email sales@thebusinessdesk.com

Northern Leadership Awards 2019


TheBusinessDesk.com is once again holding the Northern Leadership Awards, supported by CMS.

The awards celebrate the people and organisations across the North who are role models for their teams and raise the bar for their competitors.

In a year that has seen the country face the coronavirus crisis, business leaders have had to find a way to deal with the seismic economic impact of this health crisis.

There has been plenty of focus on those business leaders who did not make the right choices. These awards will recognise those individuals who did get it right – who showed the qualities of resilience, innovation, strong communication while living the values they had talked about when things were going well.

Mark Haywood

Mark Haywood from CMS said: “Effective leadership is always a challenge; that challenge is magnified during times of crisis and difficult business conditions such as we are living through now.”However, the North of England has always been known for being robust, pragmatic and innovative and these qualities will help business leaders overcome any challenge, no matter how difficult.

“CMS is proud to support the Northern Leadership Awards again; we look forward to reviewing the submissions and we wish all those who enter the very best of luck.”

The winners will be revealed at an awards dinner in September which will be a celebration of the positive and transformational impact great leaders are having in our region here and now.



Young Leader

Andrew Smith, AM-Clad

Harry Bliss, Champion Health

Kate Hutchinson, The Secret Event Service

Katie Forrest, Dakota Manchester

Tom Maxwell, Twisted Automotive


Public and Third Sector Leader

Kate Hainsworth, Leeds Community Foundation and GiveBradford

Kevin Kiely, Medilink North of England Ltd

Dr Tony Lloyd, ADHD Foundation


Empowering Potential Leader

Gav Winter, RapidSpike

Harry Bliss, Champion Health

John Quinton Barber, Social

Jonathan Seaton, Twinkl

Laura Evison, Kimson Accountancy


 Emerging Entrepreneur Leader

Andrew Smith, AM-Clad

Harry Bliss, Champion Health

Kate Hutchinson, The Secret Event Service


Diversity and Inclusion Leader

Alison Treliving, Squire Patton Boggs

Harpreet Banwait, Strong Life Care

Rob Wilson, KPMG


Professional Services Leader

Jackie Hyde, MD at Stanmore Insurance Brokers & dot2dot Nursery Insurance

James Brown, Hall Brown

Rachel Roche, Roche Legal

Sam Bushell, Brown Turner Ross

Sean Keyes, Sutcliffe


Transformational Leader

Ian Robb, The Vita Group

Justin Whitston, Fleetondemand

Paul Teasdale, PTSG

Rachel Roche, Roche Legal

Sherad Dewedi, Shenward Chartered Accountants and Business Advisors


Company Leader (up to 100 employees)

Barry Leahey MBE, Playdale Playgrounds

Charlotte Bailey, Panintelligence

Dawn Carney, Fresh Pastures & School Milk UK

Mish Liyanage, Mistoria Group

Steve Adams, Mattress Online


Company Leader (100+ employees)

Chris Rea, AESSEAL

Ian Robb, The Vita Group

Martin Port, BigChange

Nick Garthwaite, Christeyns UK

Roger Scarlett-Smith, Thornton & Ross


Best Leadership Programme

Aspire, Mazars

Common Purpose, Common Purpose

OnBoarding Officers, OnBoarding Group


Top 50 City Region Leader: Greater Manchester

John Quinton Barber, Social

John Whelan, My Digital

Mark Parello, Daintree Wealth Management

Matthew Taylor, DA Languages


Top 50 City Region Leader: Leeds

Dawn Carney, Fresh Pastures & School Milk UK

Martin Port, BigChange

Nadean McNaught, naughtone

Paul Teasdale, PTSG

Stuart Clarke, Leeds Digital Festival


Top 50 City Region Leader: Liverpool

Brian Cullen, MAPD Group

Dr Natalie Kenny, BioGrad

Robert White and Nik White, Brabners

Sean Keyes, Sutcliffe

Dr Tony Lloyd, ADHD Foundation


Top 50 City Region Leader: Sheffield

Chris Rea, AESSEAL

Edward Naylor, Naylor Industries

Harpreet Banwait, Strong Life Care

James Harding-Terry, Steetley Corner Group

Paul Fletcher, CC33


 Leader of the Year

Will be the outstanding individual chosen from the category winners.