Historic Rochdale law firms join forces

L-R Peter Miller, Anna Murzell, Peter Taylor, and Jillian Josephson

Two of Rochdale longest established law firms, AST Hampsons and Hudson & Taylor, are joining forces, bringing together more than 250 years of history.

AST Hampsons will continue, but will incorporate Peter Miller from Hudson and Taylor with his staff practising from AST’s existing buildings at 128 Yorkshire Street and 7 South Parad, Rochdale.

Hudson & Taylor’s Shaw-based office, known as Colin Ashworth & Co, will be serviced via the Rochdale offices and where appropriate, home visits.

Managing partner Peter Taylor said: “I am delighted to welcome Peter Miller and his staff into AST Hampsons.

“My old Firm, Standring Taylor & Co is one of the nine firms that eventually became AST Hampsons and there are many who still remember it and its history.

“I am sure the same will apply to Hudson & Taylor which has been established in Rochdale since 1910 and is greatly respected by many Rochdalians and others as a supplier of good quality legal services.”

Miller said: “I am very much looking forward to becoming part of a well-respected, proactive and progressive firm and working alongside Peter Taylor and his partners.

“Our respective firms have enjoyed an excellent relationship over decades and I see this development as truly beneficial to clients old and new.”

The move adds to the planned and successful period of growth for AST Hampsons which has expanded its Bury office and developed and strengthened its probate, commercial, family, personal injury and conveyancing departments.

Louise Salisbury (formerly of Molesworths) and Jillian Josephson (from QualitySolicitors, DWF and Cobbetts) joined as partners in 2014 and 2016 respectively and Anna Murzell and Helen O’Sullivan’s successful property team joined the company in 2015 from a local conveyancing firm.

New heads of department have been appointed to both the family team – Jennifer Worcester – and PI and medical negligence – Samantha Labor.

Join us at the 2022 Rainmaker Awards