North West branches included in Lloyds Bank closure programme

Lloyds Banking Group will shut 60 of its branches this year – including five sites in the North West.

In total, the closures will include 24 Lloyds Bank sites, 19 Bank of Scotland locations and 17 Halifax branches.

The national programme of closures will begin in June and continue until September.

Among the Lloyds Bank branches to shut their doors will be Bolton Westhoughton (August 11), Knutsford (July 7), Liverpool Woolton (July 14), Knutsford (July 7), and Poulton-le-Fylde (June 28).

Vim Maru, group retail director of Lloyds Banking Group said: “Just like many other high street businesses, fewer customers are choosing to visit our branches.

“Our branch network is an important way for us to support our customers, but we need to adapt to the significant growth in customers choosing to do most of their everyday banking online.”

The Unite union said the announcement would result in 124 job losses across England and Scotland.

Caren Evans, Unite national officer, said: “Lloyds Banking Group must not be allowed to abandon 60 more local communities where bank branches play an essential role.

“The 124 employees who work tirelessly in their communities are dedicated to serving the banking needs of the most vulnerable who depend on their skilled services.

“When a bank branch closes the heart of the local community is ripped out and the results are devastating.”

Click here to sign up to receive our new South West business news...