Proposals revealed for three new West Midlands railway stations

Transport authorities have set aside £1m for planning for new railway stations at Castle Bromwich, Coventry East, and one station near Tettenhall.

The proposed stations which are located along existing railway lines, aim to address the lack of rapid public transport and tackle deprivation in these areas.

Castle Bromwich, on the Birmingham to Leicester/Nottingham line, would see the reopening of a station closed since 1968. Coventry East, on the Coventry to Rugby line, would offer a new station serving the Binley/Willenhall area.

Another new station, between Tettenhall, Claregate, and Pendeford in Wolverhampton, would be positioned along the Wolverhampton to Shrewsbury line. The names of these stations could be decided through community consultation.

Andy Street, mayor of the West Midlands and WMRE Chair, said: “With five new railway stations under construction and a sixth on the way, we’re getting on with delivering the transport infrastructure local people want to see right across our region. We’ve now whittled down our list of stations to a priority list of these three at Castle Bromwich, Coventry East and Tettenhall – as these are the ones most likely to deliver the biggest benefit to the communities they serve.

“For those locations which did not make the shortlist, we’re still looking at ways to bring forward delivery. The £1.7bn Midland Rail Hub scheme – now fully funded by the Government – may provide an avenue and will certainly be a game changer enabling us to connect even more towns and communities to the rail network. New rail infrastructure can be transformative for an area – offering residents sustainable and convenient access to rapid and reliable public transport. That’s why it’s good news that local people will benefit from these stations very soon.”

Funding for these station developments is provided through the City Region Sustainable Transport Settlement (CRSTS) allocated to the West Midlands Combined Authority (WMCA) by the Department for Transport.