£20m railway station funding for better accessibility

X The Business Desk

Register for free to receive latest news stories direct to your inbox


Disabled rail passengers across Yorkshire and the Humber will benefit from accessibility improvements at 16 stations thanks to a £20m Government fund.

The enhancements announced by the Transport Secretary Grant Shapps today are funded through the Access for All programme and will include improvements such as a new footbridge at Thirsk with three lifts, adding lifts to Pontefract Monkhill as well as removal of steps and providing accessible seating at other stations.

Shapps said: “The ability to travel easily from A to B is an essential factor for our day to day lives – but is not the reality for everyone.

“I recognise we have much more to do, which is why we’re making 16 railway stations across the Yorkshire and the Humber more accessible – a key part of levelling-up access for disabled people to transport and opening up opportunities for all.

“This is just the start of a much more ambitious agenda. My goal is to go much further in the years ahead to help ensure that our country’s transport system becomes one of the most accessible in the world.”

The £20m fund is part of a £300m package announced last year which is already providing accessible, step free routes at 73 stations across Great Britain, making it easier for disabled people to travel on the UK’s rail network.

Minister for Disabled People, Justin Tomlinson, said: “Everyone using our rail network deserves platforms and toilets they can use and this £20m investment to improve 16 railway stations across Yorkshire will make a huge difference to disabled people.

“This Government is committed to levelling up the playing field and later this year we’ll launch a national strategy which will ensure disabled people have equal access to all spheres of life.”

The stations set to benefit from the money in Yorkshire and the Humber are: Barnetby; Darnall; Darton; Dodworth; Elsecar; Horton in Ribblesdale; Hull Paragon; Kiveton Bridge; Kiveton Park; Malton; Penistone; Pontefract Monkhill; Silkstone Common; Thirsk; Thorne South; and Woodhouse.