Entries to this year’s Manchester Legal Awards close soon

The Manchester Legal Awards in 2023

Manchester’s legal community are being urged to submit their entries into the Manchester Legal Awards.

As the deadline of Friday 15 March approaches, individuals and teams at legal practices and chambers of all sizes are being encouraged, as are entries from in-house lawyers at organisations and businesses.

Entry is free and membership of the Manchester Law Society is not required.

Now in its 15th year, the Manchester Legal Awards recognise and celebrate the best legal talent from across the city region. 

Winners will be revealed at a black-tie ceremony at The Midland Hotel on Thursday 6 June.

Fran Eccles-Bech, chief executive of the Manchester Law Society, said:  “We know that Manchester is home to some of the brightest legal minds and the awards are an opportunity to share and celebrate outstanding work. 

“Our awards are open to individuals, teams, firms, and chambers across the region. I’d encourage anyone who wants to raise their profile amongst the Manchester legal community to get their entries in and have their hard work recognised.

“If modesty or a belief that you don’t stand a chance of winning has prevented you from submitting an entry in the past, I want to assure you that everyone has an equal chance of winning, irrespective of the size, weight or reputation of the firm, chambers or organisation they represent. 

“The Manchester Legal Awards provide a level playing field on which everyone in the legal profession can mark their accomplishments. 

“Our judging process is fair and transparent, with a panel of judges that represent a wonderfully varied cross-section of experience and opinion. 

“With individual and team categories and our equivalent of ‘best newcomer’, there really is something for everyone.”

Ruth Shearn, judge and founder, RMS PR Marketing & Design, added: “It is an absolute privilege to judge these awards. The legal talent displayed by firms of all sizes is truly astonishing. It’s so lovely to see the winners celebrating their success on the big night!”

James Brown, previous winner Medium Firm of the Year, commented: “It’s a major deal to be shortlisted, let alone win. Manchester is a hardcore legal centre and we’re thrilled to have won in previous years and will certainly be entering again.”

Iwona Durlak, previous winner Small Law Firm of the Year, added:  “We’ve been nominated three times and were absolutely delighted to have won in 2023.”

Richard Bacon, Shard Capital, sponsor of Family Team of the Year: “To say it’s the highlight of our year wouldn’t’ be overplaying the importance of this occasion.”

All entries, with the exception of Lifetime Achievement, will be assessed against four criteria by a panel of judges from the legal and business community. 

The awards are free to enter and there are 21 categories: 

  • CSR Champions of the Year
  • Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Champions of the Year 
  • Health & Wellbeing Champions of the Year
  • Trainee/Paralegal/Apprentice of the Year
  • Solicitor of the Year 
  • Corporate/Commercial Team of the Year
  • Crime Team of the Year
  • Employment Team of the Year
  • Family Team of the Year
  • Litigation Team of the Year
  • Personal Injury/Clinical Negligence Team of the Year
  • Private Client Team of the Year
  • Property Team of the Year
  • Regulatory Team of the Year
  • Barristers’ Chambers of the Year
  • Barrister of the Year
  • Partner of the Year
  • Small Law Firm of the Year (1-5 partners nationally)
  • Medium Law Firm of the Year (6-20 partners nationally)
  • Large Law Firm of the Year (20+ partners nationally)
  • Lifetime Achievement

Entries can be submitted at Manchester Legal Awards before the deadline of Friday 15 March and people are encouraged to follow @MLAwards on X (formerly Twitter) and the Manchester Law Society LinkedIn page.

There are limited sponsorship and advertising opportunities available. Please contact mlawards@manchesterlawsociety.org.uk  for further information.