Northern Leadership Awards: Shortlist revealed

X The Business Desk

Register for free to receive latest news stories direct to your inbox


The judges have met and deliberated over’s very first Northern Leadership Awards entries and the shortlisted individuals can now be revealed.

Those shortlisted from the more than 120 entries across all categories showcased the very best in modern leadership qualities.

The Northern Leadership Awards, sponsored by CMS, will take place at The Queens Hotel in Leeds on November 28 – where the winners of each category will be announced.

Tickets and tables can be booked online now.

Nina Warhurst

Hosted by BBC presenter Nina Warhurst, the evening will also feature  a keynote speech from Helen Thomas – the Director of BBC England. This year’s event follows on from the success of the Yorkshire Leadership Awards held last November and has also been supported by Leeds Trinity University and Absolute Commercial Interiors.

Amy Revell, Director at Absolute Commercial Interiors, said: “As we are all about transformation, we are thrilled to be supporting the Transformational Leader category. We’re passionate about supporting business leaders in enabling transformations from both a business and environment perspective; both of which go hand-in-hand.
“Well done to all businesses involved!”

Judges for the Northern Leadership Awards were:

  • Becky Hewitt – Director of People, Leeds Building Society; also last year’s Diversity and Inclusion Award winner

    2019 Northern Leadership Awards judges

  • Nigel Brewster – Vice chairman, Sheffield City Region LEP
  • Helen Oldham – Founding Board Director, North Invest
  • Damian Waters – North West Director, CBI
  • Sheena McDermott – North West Programme Director, Be The Business
  • Asif Hamid – Chair, Liverpool LEP
  • Maggie O’Carroll – CEO, The Woman’s Organisation
  • Howard Gill – Partner, CMS
  • Tanya Holt – Partner, CMS
  • David Baldwin – CEO of Burnley FC and Chair of the Bradford Economic Partnership

Kayley Worsley, Yorkshire editor at, said: “It was an incredibly tough judging day as the calibre of entries was very high. Thanks to our judges for their time and input; and to all individuals who entered. We very much look forward to celebrating the successes of the fantastic leaders working in businesses right across the North.”

Northern Leadership Awards 2019 shortlist: 

Young Leader – Sponsored by Leeds Trinity University 

Mike Anderson – Padoq

Kate Barnes – Utiligroup

Matthew Hemmings – Openreach

Louise Myers – CG Professional

Peter Sawrij – Thomas Coombs


Public and Third Sector Leader

Nicky Chance-Thompson – The Piece Hall Trust

Richard Jeffery – Business Growth Hub

Dr Tony Lloyd – ADHD Foundation

Jodie McNally – EY Foundation

Janet Spencer – Turning Lives Around


Empowering Potential Leader

Taryn Edge – Linbrooke

Andrew Green – Hotel Indigo Manchester

Susie Holmes – PwC

Professor Barry Leahey –  Playdale Playgrounds

Janine Smith – The Growth Company


Emerging Entrepreneur Leader

Mike Anderson – Padoq

Paul Hallett – Vet AI

Paul Nicholson – Nicholson Group

Anna Sutton – The Data Shed


Diversity and Inclusion Leader

Chris Madeley – Madeley Enterprises

Suzanne Robinson – EY

Sally Penni – Women in the Law UK

Alison Treliving – Squire Patton Boggs

Sarah Tulip – Women in Leeds Digital / Software Cloud


Professional Services Leader

Tim Halstead – Shulmans LLP

Steve Hunt – Steven A Hunt Associates

Shru Morris – Napthens LLP

Carl Newton – Myerson

Suzanne Robinson – EY


Transformational Leader – Sponsored by Absolute Commercial Interiors

Mark Cook – Sewtec

Gary Haynes – Utiligroup

Stephen O’Brien – Pure Technology Group

Michael Pemberton – BEC

Mandy Ridyard -Produmax


Company Leader (up to 100 employees)

Suzie Bogle – Breathing Space HR

Paul Corcoran – Agent Marketing

Keith Jackson – Brandon Medical

Zandra Moore – Panintelligence

Steven Nanda – Alpine Fire Engineers


Company Leader (100+ employees)

Paul Carter – Pure Retirement

Mark Flanagan – Shield Safety Group

Mark Lythe and Debbie Harrison – Pricecheck

Aldo Monteforte – The Floow

Paul Teasdale – Premier Technical Services Group


Best Leadership Programme

Claire Bennett – Common Purpose

Dawn Duggan – GC Business Growth Hub


Top 50 City Region Leader: Greater Manchester

Jenny Davies – M247

Dave McGoff and Declan McGoff  – McGoff Construction


Top 50 City Region Leader: Leeds

Paul Carter – Pure Retirement

Greg Kane and Michael Giscombe – Conservatory Outlet

Paul Teasdale – Premier Technical Services Group


Top 50 City Region Leader: Sheffield

Taryn Edge – Linbrooke

Mark Lythe and Debbie Harrison – Pricecheck

Rob Shaw – Jaywing