15 Yorkshire towns to receive a regeneration boost

Doncaster town centre

15 towns in Yorkshire are set to receive a share of £80m to boost regeneration.

The announcement today from the Minstry of Housing, Communities and Local Government says this initial scheme is the first part of £3.6bn investment programme to level up England’s towns in the wake of Covid-19.

The scheme will see 101 towns across the country including 15 in Yorkshire receive funding ranging from £500,000 to £1m, that can be used to support projects that will impact the area such by creating new green spaces, pedestrianising streets and creating community hubs.

The locations in Yorkshire to benefit are:

  1. Brighouse
  2. Castleford
  3. Dewsbury
  4. Doncaster
  5. Goldthorpe
  6. Goole
  7. Keighley and Shipley
  8. Morley
  9. Rotherham
  10. Scarborough
  11. Stainforth
  12. Stocksbridge
  13. Todmorden
  14. Wakefield
  15. Whitby

Communities Secretary Robert Jenrick said: “Our Towns Fund will help to share prosperity across the country and level-up. This £80 million funding for immediate investment is a real boost for our towns and will help them thrive with investment in transport, technology, skills and culture.

“It will give towns across the opportunity to drive economic growth and improve prospects for their communities, which will be vital as the country respond to the impact of the coronavirus pandemic.

“These funds are part of the overall £3.6 billion Towns Fund money allocated – with this initial pot shared out now to get some projects off the ground and give local areas the boost they need.

All of the selected towns are also working towards a Town Deal, which will set out a vision and strategy for the town and builds on the government’s commitment to decentralising funding and decisions away from Whitehall and invest in the growth of local economies and devolving powers through ambitious City and Growth Deals.