Shortlist revealed for first Midlands Leadership Awards

The shortlist for the first Midlands Leadership Awards has been revealed, shining a light on the individuals who are having a significant impact on the success of their organisations.

35 leaders from across the region have been recognised, representing business, professional services, academia, third sector and the police.

The winners will be revealed at the awards lunch on Thursday, November 15 at Edgbaston Stadium.

“The judging session was, in the very best sense, extremely hard work,” said Alex Turner, joint managing director of and chair of the judging panel.

“The volume and quality of the entries was fantastic and showed the strength of leadership we have across the Midlands. That was also a double-edged sword, as it meant a number of really good individuals missed out on being shortlisted.

“We are looking forward to celebrating the importance of leadership and the impact of our shortlisted individuals at the awards lunch next month.”

Click here for more information about the Midlands Leadership Awards lunch and to book your places.

The Midlands Leadership Awards are being supported by Curium Solutions, Aston University, Future Faces Chamber of Commerce, MHA MacIntyre Hudson, and Pertemps.

2018 Midlands Leadership Awards – Shortlist

Young Leader – sponsored by Aston University
This award recognises the best leader aged under 35 (on December 1, 2018) for their ability to make a real difference in their organisation by bringing about positive change and inspiring others around them.

Aaron Dicks, Impression
Ashley Cooper, Edward Cooper Young Chartered Surveyors (ECY)
Faye Pressly, Vanti
Samantha Earl, Pertemps
Scott Parsons, Forsyth Barnes


Best Leadership Programme
Successful companies know that leaders can be developed internally, not just hired externally. This award will go to the company or organisation that has delivered significant improvements through its successful leadership programme.

Birmingham LGBT
Meridian / Common Purpose
Plink Fizz
Streetwise MBA / Common Purpose


Empowering Potential – sponsored by Future Faces Chamber of Commerce
This award is for the leader who has inspired and developed people, unlocking potential they may never have known they had. The winning candidate will have helped their team or people in their team to beat their own expectations of themselves and/or the expectations of others.

Anthony Burns, Paycare
Anthony Ratchford, Intec Microsystems
Lee Southen, Grayling
Sallie-Ann Allen, Enploy
Simon McAlpine, Infinity IT Solutions


Diversity and Inclusion Leader
Increasingly organisations are embracing the benefits of having a diverse workforce at every level and in creating an environment where everyone has a voice. The Diversity and Inclusion leader of the year will be the individual who has championed diversity and inclusion, whether inside their organisation or as part of an outside group or initiative, and worked to improve the opportunities for any under-represented group.

Carmen Watson, Pertemps
Claire Bell, West Midlands Police
Hilary Smyth-Allen, BPS Birmingham
Prof Kiran Trehan, University of Birmingham
Yetunde Dania, Trowers & Hamlins


Public and Third Sector Leader
The public and third sectors have been under pressure in recent years, requiring its leaders to be innovative and achieve more with less. This has required leaders who can overcome challenges, often under close scrutiny, and drive cultural change in their organisation.

Mike Hopkins, South and City College Birmingham
Paul Kalinauckas, BCRS Business Loans Limited
Tom Clarke-Forrest, Sport 4 Life UK
Dr Yeow Poon, Chinese Community Centre


Professional Services Leader
The professional services leader of the year will be the individual who is showing strong leadership and having an impact in their firm or further afield.

David Richardson, Lloyds Banking Group
Nick Green, Squire Patton Boggs
Sarah Perry, Wright Hassall
Sarah Stevenson, Astute Recruitment
Steve Allen, Mills & Reeve


Transformational Leader
Delivering change requires a well-executed plan, but to deliver transformational change requires the added magic ingredient of exceptional leadership. This award will recognise the individual who has achieved that, delivering measurable success in their organisation.

Greg Reed, HomeServe Membership
Matt Jones, Oxbridge Home Learning
Mike Hopkins, South and City College Birmingham
Pauline Biddle, Deloitte
Phil Mead, NEC Group Arenas


Company Leader (up to 100 employees) – sponsored by Pertemps
Leading small companies presents its own challenges, often requiring flexibility and a personal touch. This award will go to the best leader in a Midlands company which employs up to 100 people.

Jonathan Evans, Discovery
Keir Edmonds, MCS
Kevin Rogers, Paycare
Mike Brooman, Vanti
Scott Parsons, Forsyth Barnes


Company Leader (100+ employees) – sponsored by MHA MacIntrye Hudson
Leadership in a larger company requires effort to ensure the company direction and vision is managed and communicated, often across shifts, sites and even countries. This award will go to the best leader in an organisation which employs more than 100 people.

Craig Dickson, DAC Beachcroft
Greg Reed, HomeServe Membership
James Rigby, SCC
Shahid Sheikh OBE, Clifton Packaging Group


Leader of the Year – sponsored by Curium Solutions
This person will be selected from the other award winners and will be the person or organisation that embodies outstanding leadership and is an exemplar for the Midlands.



The awards lunch

The awards lunch will take place on Thursday, November 15 at Edgbaston Stadium, Birmingham. Tickets are on sale now, priced £85+VAT each or £800+VAT for a table of 10.